Deputy President

Current Deputy President: David Dabede Mabuza

The current Deputy President is David Mabuza. He was elected deputy president at the 54th National Conference in 2017. His term of office will expire in December 2022 when the 55th National Conference will elect a new deputy president.

Deputy President

The Deputy President assists the President, deputise for him or her when necessary and carries out whatever functions are entrusted to him or her by the National Conference, the National General Council, the President, the NWC or the NEC. He or she shall be an ex-officio member of the NWC.

In the event of death or permanent incapacity of the President and the Deputy President, the NEC shall as soon as possible appoint an Acting President until such time as the National Conference meets.

Deputy Presidents of the African National Congress

Nelson Mandela

1952 - 1958

Oliver Tambo

1958 - 1985

Nelson Mandela

1985 - 1991

Walter Sisulu

1991 - 1994

Thabo Mbeki

1994 - 1997

Jacob Zuma

1997 - 2007

Kgalema Motlanthe

2007 - 2012

Cyril Ramaphosa

2012 - 2017