< Back

Statement by ANC Secretary General on continuity in Government

23 September 2008

The African National Congress has noted a statement issued this afternoon (23 September 2008) by The Presidency regarding resignations of certain ministers and deputy ministers, suggesting there is an imminent crisis in government.

The ANC has subsequently spoken to everyone mentioned in the statement. Having done that the ANC can confirm that there is no crisis.

Six members of the executive have confirmed their resignations, and indicated that they will not be available to continue in these positions. They are:

  • Deputy President Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka
  • Minister of Defence Mosiuoa Lekota
  • Minister in the Presidency Essop Pahad
  • Minister of Intelligence Ronnie Kasrils
  • Minister of Public Enterprises Alec Erwin
  • Minister of Provincial and Local Government Sydney Mufamadi

The remaining members have confirmed that they submitted letters of resignation with the understanding that the new President should be given an opportunity to appoint a new cabinet.

All of these have indicated that they are prepared to serve under a new President, and the ANC has asked that they remain in their current positions.

They are:

  • Minister of Finance Trevor Manuel
  • Minister of Correctional Services Ngconde Balfour
  • Minister of Public Service and Administration Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi
  • Minister of Public Works Thoko Didiza
  • Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Aziz Pahad
  • Deputy Minister of Finance Jabu Moleketi
  • Deputy Minister of Correctional Services Loretta Jacobus

In the case of Minister of Science and Technology Mosibudi Mangena, this would be a subject of discussion between the ANC and his organisation, the Azanian People`s Organisation (AZAPO).

The ANC reiterates the call by ANC President Jacob Zuma that all ministers and deputy ministers should remain in their posts.

The ANC cannot stand in the way of those who feel that they should nevertheless resign. The ANC extends its gratitude to these comrades for the service they have rendered to the country during their term in office.

The ANC will move speedily to fill these vacancies once the new President has assumed office.

The ANC wishes to make it clear that the process of governance will continue as normal.

The incoming President, together with his ministers and deputy ministers, supported by the entire leadership of the democratic movement, will ensure that there is continuity in government up to and beyond the 2009 election.

Issued by:
Gwede Mantashe
Secretary General
African National Congress