< Back

Statement of the ANC National Executive Committee following NEC meeting held from the 18th to the 19th January 2018

20 January 2018

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the African National Congress (ANC) held its first ordinary meeting following its election at the 54thNational Conference on 18-19 January 2018 in Irene, Tshwane.

The meeting held extensive discussion on the current political and economic environment following the presentation of a Political Overview by the President, Comrade Cyril Ramaphosa.

The NEC noted that the excellent mobilisation for the ANC’s106th anniversary celebrations in East London a few days ago and the January 8th Statement itself has generated a great deal of excitement, hope and enthusiasm among our people.

The NEC agreed that the ANC must act decisively and with determination to rebuild the bond of trust between our people and the movement, restore the dignity of our movement, and reclaim the moral legitimacy of our movement.

The meeting agreed on the need to forge a social compact among government, business, labour and communites for economic recovery, drawing on the resolutions of the 54thNational Conference.

The NEC also resolved on a number of organisational matters. These include:

  • The suspension of the Provincial Executive Committees of KwaZulu-Natal and Free State and the establishment of interim structures to unite and build the movement in preparation for provincial conferences.
  • The Officials, led by President Ramaphosa, will continue their engagement with President Jacob Zuma to ensure effective coordination between the ANC and government. 

The meeting elected members to the ANC National Working Committee, which is tasked with carrying out the decisions and instructions of the NEC and conduct the current work of the ANC.

In addition to the six Officials, the newly-elected members of the NWC are: 

  1. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  2. Lindiwe Sisulu
  3. Naledi Pandor
  4. Jeff Radebe
  5. Angie Motshekga
  6. Derek Hanekom
  7. Edna Molewa
  8. Thoko Didiza
  9. Nomvula Mokonyane
  10. Nathi Mthethwa
  11. Ronald Lamola
  12. Tina Joemat-Pettersson
  13. Dakota Legoete
  14. Senzo Mchunu
  15. Zizi Kodwa
  16. Tony Yengeni
  17. Bathabile Dlamini
  18. Nomaindia Mfeketo
  19. Barbara Creecy
  20. Thandi Modise

The Presidents of each of the three leagues also serve on the NWC in an ex officio capacity.

The NEC will be holding its bi-annual lekogtla from 20-21January 2018 to detail the programme for the movement in 2018.

Issued by 

Ace Magashule 

Secretary General 

African National Congress 


Zizi Kodwa 0823304910

Khusela Diko 0728545707